Welcome to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Kuala Lumpur is the capital and the largest city of Malaysia. Kuala Lumpur is one of the three Malaysian Federal Territories. It is an enclave within the state of Selangor, on the central west coast of Peninsular Malaysia. Within Malaysia, the city is commonly referred to as KL.

The city previously hosted the Malaysian judiciary and executive arms. With the completion of Putrajaya in the late 1990s, both arms have since migrated to Putrajaya, though sections of the judicial branch still remain in Kuala Lumpur. The Malaysian Parliament still operates in the city, and thus the city remains the legislative capital of the country.

Kuala Lumpur had its origins in the 1850s, when the Malay Chief of Klang sent Chinese upriver from China to open new and larger tin mines where Kuala Lumpur previously is rich in tins. They landed at the confluence of Sungai Gombak (previously Sg. Lumpur, which means Muddy River) and Sungai Klang (Klang River) and established mines at Ampang. Later, tin mines were opened at Pudu and Batu.

This trading post was a wild frontier town plagued by floods, fires, disease and the Selangor Civil War (1870-73). During this time, Kapitan Cina Yap Ah Loy emerged as a leader, responsible for the survival and growth of the town. In 1880 in view of its strategic location, the Selangor state capital was moved from Klang to Kuala Lumpur. Nothing of this earlier period remains as all structures were of wood and atap (thatch) which were destroyed in the fire and subsequent flood of 1881.

Thereafter, Frank Swettenham, the British Resident of Selangor who was instrumental in the development of the town, required that buildings be constructed of brick and tile. The advent of the railway increased accessibility. The development of buildings intensified in the 1890s so that it warranted the establishment of a Sanitary Board. In 1896, Kuala Lumpur was chosen as the capital of the newly formed Federated Malay States.

The multiracial community of this period settled in various sections of town. Market Square, east of Sungai Klang, became the commercial centre for the whole town. The Chinese congregated around this Square and south into Chinatown. To the north, across Java Street (now Jalan Tun Perak). were the Malays. Nearby, a number of Indian Chettiars (money-lenders), and in later years Indian Muslim traders, set up business. West of the river, the Padang (now Merdeka Square) was the focal point of the British administration.

Kuala Lumpur continued to grow despite two World Wars, the rubber and tin commodity crash and the State of Emergency (1948-60) during which Malaya was preoccupied with the Communist insurgency. In 1957, the Federation of Malaya gained its independence from British rule. Kuala Lumpur remained the capital through the formation of Malaysia, achieving city status in 1972, and was established as the Federal Territory in 1974.

Looking Forward to Your Submission!

Submit now